Seán Dunne Young Writers' Award

Past Winners

The 2012 Writers’ Award ceremony took place in Garter Lane on Friday March the 23rd.  Presented by the Mayor of Waterford, Cllr. Pat Hayes, the ceremony featured the Sean Dunne Key note address by bestselling author Oisín McGann.
Craig Gibson from Belfast was announced as the winner of the senior nation-wide Seán Dunne Young Writers Award for his piece ‘Daisies’ a wistful observational journal following Tizano Crudeli on his daily walks around New York.
The Junior award for those under the age of 16 went to Aoife Green from Donegal for her prose piece ‘Up and Over- a story about Nathanael Iorath a Welsh boy soldier in the Trenches.
The Sean Dunne local writer’s award went to Dean Hayes from Waterford City for his poem ‘You are an Actress’a piece that explores the space between an obsessive audience member and a performer.

Others awarded on the night were Kyle Hutchison, Seán Duggan, Gavin Power and Desmond Ulamen from Scoil Lorcain, Sean's Dunne’s former school.

Seán Dunne. 1956-1995
Sean Dunne - Poet and Writer

Who was Seán Dunne ?
Seán Dunne was a poet born in Waterford, Ireland.

Seán Dunne's collections of poems have all been well received, and in order of release are: "Against the Storm" (1985), "The Sheltered Nest" (1992) and "Time and the Island".

The account of his childhood "In My Father's House" was released in 1991, and was a bestseller.